Scholarships & awards

Evans Paddon Award

Named after the founder of Evans Head, the Evans Paddon Award is a prestigious award for All-Round Excellence in Year 10.

The Perpetual trophy and prize money is awarded to a Year 10 Student who has displayed excellence in several or all of the follow criteria:

  • Academic
  • Sporting
  • Cultral
  • Leadership

Previous recipients of the Evans Paddon Award

2010 - Alexander McKendrick

2011 - Cassandra Keogh

2012 - Sam Weekes

2013 - Kai Tosomeen 

2014 - Alec Barker

2015 - Aidan Yourell

Kai Tosomeen



Mid-Richmond Education Fund

In order to assist and support our local young people the Mid Richmond Education Fund was established to provide financial assistance. This Fund is designed to help young people further their education opportunities, training,  and vocational goals. The Fund recognises the cost to rural students in pursuing their post school training which  is often greater than that of city based people and assist those students who find such costs prohibitive. Mid-Richmond Education Fund


CWA scholarships

The Far North Coast Country Women's Association offers Education Grants to students in this area each year. These grants are available to students entering High School and through Secondary Studies, to Tertiary Education or Developmental Disabilities Study.
Each Year Evans River K-12 School encourages eligible students to apply for the CWA grant. Over past years many students have received this grant assisting them to cover costs such as, uniforms, books and equipment.
In 2013 two of our senior students received grants to assist with their costs of moving onto Tertiary Studies.
CWA grant reciepents


Read more about different scholarships and awards.

NSW School Nanga Mai Awards

These awards are presented to Aboriginal students, Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal staff, school regions, schools and community members across several categories. They highlight and celebrate excellence and achievement in Aboriginal education in NSW Public Schools.

Premier's reading challenge

This popular challenge encourages students from Kindergarten to Year 9 to develop a love of reading and plays an important role in developing literacy.

Premier's spelling bee

This annual competition encourages primary school students in Years 3-6 to develop their spelling skills in a fun and educational way. Students are selected at school level to take part in regional finals. Regional winners then compete in the state final.

Premier's ANZAC Memorial Scholarships

Opportunities for selected secondary students to visit significant overseas sites associated with Australia's participation in wars, who will be in Years 10 or 11 at the time of travel.

Duke of Edinburgh's award

The Duke of Edinburgh Award provides an internationally recognised, self-development program for 14-25 year olds. The program equips young people with the opportunity to undertake a variety of voluntary and challenging activities.

Teaching scholarships

Up to 300 scholarships are available for talented students to train as teachers in secondary maths, science (physics) or English, and in special education.

Australian student prize

Excellence and achievement in high school is recognised by this Commonwealth government award.

HSC Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander students

Scholarships are awarded to students to study to be primary and high school teachers.

Gallipoli scholarships

Four scholarships are awarded each year to descendants of WWI and WWII veterans to help finance the first year of a degree course in a NSW or ACT University.

United World College scholarships

These are available to students in Years 11 and 12 to enable young people to spend two years in one of the United World College's 12 overseas campuses.

Medical and health careers scholarships

The NSW Rural Doctors Network offers scholarships for students interested in having rural experience as part of their studies.